152 publishers submit 240 for the German Non-Fiction Prize 2020

152 publishers submit 240 for the German Non-Fiction Prize 2020

152 German-language publishers have put titles into the running for the first German Non-Fiction Prize. The publishers submitted a total of 240 titles to compete for non-fiction book of the year 2020. 124 of these publishers are based in Germany, 13 in Austria and 15 in Switzerland.

Each publisher was allowed to submit a maximum of two monographs, published (or to be published) between May 2019 and April 2020, when the nominations will be announced. In addition, each publisher could recommend five further titles from their own programme. This list of recommendations comprises 152 titles. The jury for the German Non-Fiction Prize may request additional titles from this list of recommendations.

The jury will select the winning title through a two-stage process: The jurors will compile a list of nominations comprising eight titles, which will be announced on 21 April 2020. From this selection, they will then choose the non-fiction book of the year. The winner will be announced at the awards ceremony on 16 June 2020 in the Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss (Humboldt Forum in the Berlin Palace). The event will be moderated by Katja Gasser (ORF) and René Aguigah (Deutschlandfunk Kultur).

The jury 2020

  • Prof Dr Albrecht Beutelspacher (Mathematikum science museum, Gießen)
  • Susanne Beyer (Der Spiegel)
  • Dr Klaus Kowalke (“Lessing und Kompanie” bookstore, Chemnitz)
  • Tania Martini (die tageszeitung)
  • Helmut Mayer (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung)
  • Dr Emilia Roig (Center for Intersectional Justice)
  • Dr Kia Vahland (Süddeutsche Zeitung)

More about the jury of the German Non-Fiction Prize 2020


[Translate to Englisch:] Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung


[Translate to Englisch:] Deutsche Bank Stiftung

with support from


with support from