Countdown to the award ceremony

Countdown to the award ceremony

Which of this year’s eight shortlisted titles will be judged best non-fiction book of 2022? On 30 May 2022, from 6 pm, the Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels (Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association) will award the German Non-Fiction Prize for the second time. The prize is awarded to an outstanding non-fiction book written in German that inspires social debate. The award ceremony will take place as a live broadcast from the Humboldt Forum and will be hosted by the cultural journalist and literary critic Katja Gasser. Minister of State for Culture Claudia Roth, the patron of the prize, will be present at the event.

The award ceremony of the German Non-Fiction Prize live

Reading enthusiasts can follow the award ceremony on various channels:

The award ceremony live, 30 May, 6 pm

Matinee with the nominees at Humboldt Forum

On the day before the award ceremony, the Stiftung Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss (Foundation of the Humboldt Forum in the Berlin Palace) will host a matinee with the nominees. The event will take place on 29 May from 11 am to 12:30 pm and will be streamed live on the Humboldt Forum website. The authors will have an opportunity to talk in three roundtables moderated by Shelly Kupferberg, Hadnet Tesfai and Jörg Thadeusz.

Live broadcast of the matinee, 29 May, 11 am

NFT edition and award ceremony in the metaverse

In addition to the actual award ceremony, for the first time, the German Non-Fiction Prize will also be awarded in the metaverse. The winner will receive a digital certificate inscribed on a blockchain. Several titles shortlisted for the 2022 award, as well as the winning title from 2021, are available for a limited time as special limited edition NFTs (non-fungible tokens) at Creatokia, the NFT platform of the book industry. For more information, go to


Logo Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels

Main Supporter

Logo Deutsche Bank Stiftung