The award ceremony live

The award ceremony live

Which title will be judged best non-fiction book of the year 2021? On 14 June 2021 from 6 pm, the Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels (Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association) will award the German Non-Fiction Book Prize for the first time. The prize is awarded to an outstanding non-fiction book written in German that inspires social debate.

Watch the award ceremony on the internet or radio and tune in on Twitter

The award ceremony will take place as a live broadcast from the Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss (Humboldt Forum in the Berlin Palace) and will be hosted by Katrin Schumacher (MDR) and René Aguigah (Deutschlandfunk Kultur). At the award ceremony, they talk to jury spokesperson Dr Kia Vahland, President of the Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels Karin Schmidt-Friderichs and Prof Dr Hartmut Dorgerloh, general director of the Humboldt Forum. Reading enthusiasts can follow the event on screen at

At the same time, the radio station Deutschlandfunk Kultur will broadcast the award ceremony live on the special “Dokumente und Debatten” channel on digital radio and stream it on The German Non-Fiction Prize will also cover the event on Twitter: (hashtag #DSP21).

Matinée with the nominees at the Berlin Palace

On the day before the award ceremony, the Stiftung Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss invites you to a matinee with the nominees at the Berlin Palace. The event can be followed live on the Humboldt Forum website on 13 June from 11 am to 12:45 pm. The eight authors will be in conversation with each other, moderated by Shelly Kupferberg, Hadnet Tesfai and Jörg Thadeusz.

Find out more about the nominees


Logo Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels

Main Supporter

Logo Deutsche Bank Stiftung


Logo Humboldt Forum