Press Release

German Non-Fiction Prize 2023: 206 titles submitted by 128 publishers

Jeanne Rubner is appointed jury spokesperson / Award ceremony to be held on 1 June 2023 in the Small Hall of the Elbphilharmonie concert hall in Hamburg

128 German-language publishers have submitted a total of 206 titles to compete for the German Non-Fiction Prize 2023. 100 of these publishers are based in Germany, 13 in Austria, 13 in Switzerland, 1 in Liechtenstein and 1 in Great Britain.

Each publisher could submit a maximum of two monographs published or to be published between May 2022 and April 2023, when the nominations will be announced. In addition, each publisher could recommend up to five further titles from their own programme. This list of recommendations comprises 156 titles. The jury for the German Non-Fiction Prize may request additional titles from this list.

During their first joint meeting, the members of the jury appointed Jeanne Rubner (Technische Universität München – Technical University of Munich) as their spokesperson. The other members of the jury are: Julika Griem (Kulturwissenschaftliches Institut Essen – Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities Essen), Stefan Koldehoff (Deutschlandfunk), Michael Lemling (“Buchhandlung Lehmkuhl” bookshop), Markus Rex (Alfred-Wegener-Institut – Alfred Wegener Institute), Adam Soboczynski (Die ZEIT) and Mirjam Zadoff (NS-Dokumentationszentrum München – Munich Documentation Centre for the History of National Socialism).

The jury will select the winning title through a two-stage process. First, the jurors will compile a list of nominations comprising eight titles, which will be announced on 18 April 2023. From this selection, they will then choose the non-fiction book of the year. The winner will be announced at the award ceremony in the Small Hall of the Elbphilharmonie concert hall in Hamburg on 1 June 2023.

The Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels (Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association) awards the prize, worth a total of 42,500 euros, to an outstanding non-fiction book written in German that inspires social debate. The winner receives 25,000 euros, the seven other nominees 2,500 euros each. Last year, Stephan Malinowski won the prize for his non-fiction book “Die Hohenzollern und die Nazis. Geschichte einer Kollaboration” (“The Hohenzollern and the Nazis: History of a Collaboration”).

The Deutsche Bank Stiftung (Deutsche Bank Foundation) is the main sponsor of the prize, which is also supported by the city of Hamburg and the foundation ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius.

Complete information about the prize is available at

The hashtag for the German Non-Fiction Prize is #DeutscherSachbuchpreis

Images of the jury are available at:

Frankfurt am Main, 10 January 2023

Contacts for die media:

Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V.
Thomas Koch, Head of Press and Public Relations
Tel. +49 (0) 69 1306-293, e-mail: t.kochNO SPAM SPAN!

Rebecca Ufert, PR Manager
Tel. +49 (0) 69 1306-330, e-mail: ufertNO SPAM SPAN!

Birgit Politycki, Politycki & Partner
Tel. +49 (0) 40 4309 315-12, e-mail: bpNO SPAM SPAN!



Logo Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels

Main Supporter

Logo Deutsche Bank Stiftung