Press Release

German Non-Fiction Prize 2020: The jury has been chosen

Seven jury members selected / Publishers can nominate titles until 22 November 2019 / Call for submissions on

The jury for the German Non-Fiction Prize 2020 has been selected. The Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis (Academy of the German Non-Fiction Prize) has appointed the following seven experts from the areas of non-fiction criticism, journalism, science and the book trade to the jury:

  • Prof Dr Albrecht Beutelspacher (Mathematikum science museum, Gießen)
  • Susanne Beyer (Der Spiegel)
  • Dr Klaus Kowalke (“Lessing und Kompanie” bookstore, Chemnitz)
  • Tania Martini (die tageszeitung)
  • Helmut Mayer (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung)
  • Dr Emilia Roig (Center for Intersectional Justice)
  • Dr Kia Vahland (Süddeutsche Zeitung)

The members of the jury will decide who receives the first German Non-Fiction Prize. To ensure that it is awarded as independently as possible, the Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis selects a new jury every year. It is possible to serve as a member of the jury more than once.

The Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels (Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association) will award this prize, worth a total of 42,500 euros, for the first time on 16 June 2020 in the Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss (Humboldt Forum in the Berlin Palace). The prize honours an outstanding non-fiction book written in German that inspires social debate. The winner receives 25,000 euros, the seven nominees 2,500 euros each.

Publishers may submit titles

Until 22 November 2019, publishers may submit two monographs each, written in German, from their current or planned programme and may recommend up to five additional titles. These titles must be published between May 2019 and April 2020 and be available in bookstores no later than 21 April, when the nominations will be announced.

The non-fiction book of the year is selected through a two-stage process. First, the jury compiles a list of nominations comprising eight titles, which will be announced on 21 April 2020. From this selection, the members of the jury then choose the non-fiction book of the year. The winner will only be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony itself.

The Deutsche Bank Stiftung (Deutsche Bank Foundation) is the main sponsor of the prize, which is also supported by the technology and information provider MVB and the Stiftung Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss (Foundation of the Humboldt Forum in the Berlin Palace).

Complete information about the prize and the online application form are available at

The hashtag is #DSP20


[Translate to Englisch:] Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung


[Translate to Englisch:] Deutsche Bank Stiftung

with support from