Press Release

German Non-Fiction Prize 2022: Introducing the jury

Seven jury members selected / Publishers can nominate titles until 19 November 2021 / Call for submissions on

The jury for the German Non-Fiction Prize 2022 has been selected. The Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis (Academy of the German Non-Fiction Prize) has appointed the following seven experts from the areas of non-fiction criticism, journalism, science and the book trade to the jury:

  • Dr Klaus Kowalke (“Lessing & Kompanie” bookstore)
  • Stefan Koldehoff (Deutschlandfunk)
  • Tania Martini (die tageszeitung)
  • Prof. Dr. Meron Mendel (Bildungsstätte Anne Frank – Anne Frank Educational Centre)
  • Dr Jeanne Rubner (Bayerischer Rundfunk)
  • Denis Scheck (ARD)
  • Prof Dr Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger (Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin – Berlin Institute for Advanced Study)

The members of the jury decide who will receive the German Non-Fiction Prize 2022. At their first joint meeting, the jury members appoint their spokesperson. The Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis selects a new jury every year. It is possible to serve as a member of the jury more than once.

The German Non-Fiction Prize will be awarded for the second time in 2022. The Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels (Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association) will award the prize, worth a total of 42,500 euros, on 30 May 2022. The award honours an outstanding non-fiction book written in German that inspires social debate. The winner receives 25,000 euros, the seven nominees 2,500 euros each.

Publishers may submit titles

Until 19 November 2021, publishers may submit two German-language monographs each from their current or planned programme and may recommend up to five additional titles. These titles must be published between May 2021 and April 2022 and be available in bookstores no later than 12 April, when the nominations will be announced.

The non-fiction book of the year is selected through a two-stage process. First, the jury compiles a list of nominations comprising eight titles, which will be announced on 12 April 2022. From this selection, the members of the jury then choose the non-fiction book of the year. The winner will only be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony on 30 May 2022 at the Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss (Humboldt Forum in the Berlin Palace).

The Deutsche Bank Stiftung (Deutsche Bank Foundation) is the main sponsor of the prize, which is also supported by the Stiftung Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss (Foundation of the Humboldt Forum in the Berlin Palace).

Complete information about the prize and the online application form are available at

The hashtag is #DSP22

Frankfurt am Main, 2 November 2021


Logo Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels

Main Supporter

Logo Deutsche Bank Stiftung


Logo Humboldt Forum